Fort Wayne graduates more than 1,000 at 48th annual commencement ceremony

Ivy Tech Community College’s Fort Wayne Campus celebrated its 48th annual commencement ceremony tonight at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum. The College graduated more than 1,000 students in Fort Wayne and awarded nearly 1,300 associate degrees, certificates, and technical certificates.


STUDENT SPEAKER: The class of 2018’s student speaker was Brandon Krontz, who graduated with an associate degree in criminal justice. When he first began attending Ivy Tech, he lived in a homeless shelter for veterans. Today, he is married, and his blended family has seven children. Krontz is a Dean’s List student and wrote in his speaker application, “I have been clean and sober since Sept. 18, 2014.”

BUD CURTIS AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING STUDENT: The College gives two Curtis Awards each year: one recognizing an outstanding graduate from the College’s career and technical schools, and the other, the university/transfer schools. This year’s winners are Adama Samba, from the School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering, & Applied Science; and Cynthia Korbeck-Black, from the School of Health Sciences.

The Bud Curtis Award winners are chosen from among the Ivy Tech Fort Wayne Outstanding Student Awards, which are awarded to one student per academic school. This year’s remaining Outstanding Student Awards went to the following students:

  • Patrick Conway, School of Arts, Sciences, & Education
  • Dawn Jackson, School of Business, Logistics, & Supply Chain
  • Kim Amato, School of Information Technology
  • Susannah Chase, School of Nursing
  • Sheryl Kreig, School of Public Affairs & Social Services

PRESIDENT’S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN INSTRUCTION: Each Ivy Tech across the state nominates the winner of its President’s Award, which goes to a full-time faculty member, for the Founder’s Award for Excellence in Instruction. Ivy Tech Fort Wayne’s nominee is Tony Ramey, assistant professor of Business Administration.

ADJUNCT FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN INSTRUCTION: Each Ivy Tech across the state nominates the winner of its Adjunct Faculty Award, which goes to a part-time faculty member, for the Gerald I. Lamkin Award for adjunct faculty members. Ivy Tech Fort Wayne’s nominee is math instructor Margaret Hall.

SPECIAL NOTE: Students and guests used #IvyTechGrad to discuss the ceremony and festivities on social media. Use the hashtag to view graduation photos and messages of encouragement on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

Share a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s