Ivy Tech Fort Wayne and Warsaw graduate nearly 2,100 at 53rd annual commencement ceremony

Ivy Tech Community College Fort Wayne and Warsaw celebrated its 53rd annual commencement ceremony May 12 at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum. The College graduated nearly 2,100 students in Fort Wayne and Warsaw and awarded 2,700+ degrees, certificates, and technical certificates.

STUDENT SPEAKER: The class of 2023’s student speaker was Candice Priest, who graduated with her Associate of Applied Science in Business Administration.

BUD CURTIS AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING STUDENT: The College gives two Curtis Awards each year: one recognizing an outstanding graduate from the College’s career and technical schools, and the other, the university/transfer schools. This year’s winners are Jhenna Adams from the School of Public Affairs & Social Services and Gary Coker from the School of Arts, Sciences, & Education.

The Bud Curtis Award winners are chosen from among the Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw Outstanding Student Awards, which are awarded to one student per academic school. This year’s remaining Outstanding Student Awards went to the following students:

  • Curtis Martin, School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering, & Applied Science
  • Andrew Hamblett, School of Information Technology
  • Ambyr Hogue, School of Nursing
  • Drew Landgrave, School of Health Sciences
  • Caleb Dunlap, School of Business, Logistics, & Supply Chain
  • Cherie Dobbs, Garatoni School of Entrepreneurship & Innovation

PRESIDENT’S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN INSTRUCTION: Each Ivy Tech across the state nominates the winner of its President’s Award, which goes to a full-time faculty member, for the Glen W. Sample Founder’s Award for Excellence in Instruction. The Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw nominee is Associate Professor of Business Administration Dr. Carla Quickel.

ADJUNCT FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN INSTRUCTION AND GERALD I. LAMKIN AWARD NOMINEE: Each Ivy Tech across the state nominates the winner of its Adjunct Faculty Award, which goes to a part-time faculty member. These nominees are then eligible for the Gerald I. Lamkin Award for adjunct faculty members. The Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw nominee of the statewide Lamkin Award is humanities instructor Orene Colcord.

Share a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s