Ivy Tech Fort Wayne and Warsaw graduate more than 1,800 at 51st annual commencement ceremony

Ivy Tech Community College Fort Wayne and Warsaw celebrated its 51st annual commencement ceremony today at Coliseum Campus. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the ceremony was held in a drive-thru format. The College graduated more than 1,800 students in Fort Wayne and Warsaw and awarded 2,700+ associate degrees, certificates, and technical certificates.

STUDENT SPEAKER: The class of 2021’s student speaker was Tinisha Thomas, who graduated with an associate degree in general studies, a general education transfer core technical certificate, and a culinarian certificate. Hear her inspirational speech at IvyTech.edu/fortwayne/graduation.

BUD CURTIS AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING STUDENT: The College gives two Curtis Awards each year: one recognizing an outstanding graduate from the College’s career and technical schools, and the other, the university/transfer schools. This year’s winners are Abby Benya, from the School of Public and Social Services; and Michelle Drayer, from the School of Arts, Sciences & Education.

The Bud Curtis Award winners are chosen from among the Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw Outstanding Student Awards, which are awarded to one student per academic school. This year’s remaining Outstanding Student Awards went to the following students:

Shannon Lewandowski Anderson, School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering, and Applied Science

Jonathon Lewis, School of Information Technology

Nicole Minier, School of Nursing

VerLon Murkey, School of Health Sciences

Jennifer Vanderpool, School of Business, Logistics, and Supply Chain

PRESIDENT’S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN INSTRUCTION: Each Ivy Tech across the state nominates the winner of its President’s Award, which goes to a full-time faculty member, for the Founder’s Award for Excellence in Instruction. The Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw nominee is Associate Professor of Economics Matthew Fisher.

ADJUNCT FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN INSTRUCTION AND GERALD I. LAMKIN AWARD NOMINEE: Each Ivy Tech across the state nominates the winner of its Adjunct Faculty Award, which goes to a part-time faculty member. These nominees are then eligible for the Gerald I. Lamkin Award for adjunct faculty members. The Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw nominee of the statewide Lamkin Award is automotive instructor Jim Graham.

SPECIAL NOTE: Students and guests used #IvyTechGrad to share celebratory moments on social media. Use the hashtag to view graduation photos and messages of encouragement on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

Share a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s