Ivy Tech Fort Wayne and Warsaw graduate 2,400+, holding smaller commencement celebrations later in summer/fall

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Ivy Tech Community College Fort Wayne/Warsaw has canceled its 50th annual commencement ceremony, which was originally scheduled for May 8 at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum. The College will instead recognize its more than 2,400 graduates with on-campus celebrations when it is prudent.  The Fort Wayne and Warsaw graduates represent 3,400+ associate degrees, certificates, and technical certificates.

To mark what would have been their original graduation date, graduates are encouraged to pick up yard signs commemorating their achievements at drive-through pick up on campus. Ivy Tech Fort Wayne and Warsaw will also be recognizing graduates in person with smaller celebrations hosted by academic schools when CDC and Ivy Tech guidelines allow a return to campus. 2020 graduates are also invited to attend the commencement ceremonies a year from now in Spring 2021, if they so desire, to participate in the formal commencement.


BUD CURTIS AWARD NOMINEES FOR OUTSTANDING STUDENT: The College gives two Curtis Awards each year: one recognizing an outstanding graduate from the College’s career and technical schools, and the other, the university/transfer schools. The Bud Curtis Award winners are chosen from among the Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw Outstanding Student Awards, which are awarded to one student per academic school. The following students are this year’s Bud Curtis Award Nominees and Outstanding Student Award Winners:

  • Jeremiah Burdick, School of Nursing
  • Charity Fischer, School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering & Applied Technology
  • Connor Green, School of Arts, Sciences & Education
  • Manassee Kisonga, School of Business, Logistics, and Supply Chain
  • Faith Peralez, School of Public Affairs & Social Services
  • Rebecca Trammel, School of Health Sciences
  • Molly K. Waddell, School of Information Technology

PRESIDENT’S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN INSTRUCTION: Each Ivy Tech across the state nominates the winner of its President’s Award, which goes to a full-time faculty member, for the Founder’s Award for Excellence in Instruction. The Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw nominee is Dr. Michelle Hagan-Short, faculty in the Business Administration program. She will attend a statewide dinner in June to be honored by the College and to learn who the statewide Founder’s Award recipient is for this year. Hagan-Short also received Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw’s Leepoxy Faculty Award.

ADJUNCT FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN INSTRUCTION AND GERALD I. LAMKIN AWARD RECIPIENT: Each Ivy Tech across the state nominates the winner of its Adjunct Faculty Award, which goes to a part-time faculty member. These nominees are then eligible for the Gerald I. Lamkin Award for adjunct faculty members. The Ivy Tech Fort Wayne/Warsaw nominee of the statewide Lamkin Award is business instructor Liz Peterson.

SPECIAL NOTE: Students and guests will use #IvyTechGrad to share photos commemorating their graduation. Use the hashtag to view graduation photos and messages of encouragement on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

Share a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s